Sing-Ind Voice

Breaking News

The Public Service Star was instituted in 1963 which is called BBM and it stands as BINTANG BAKTI MASYARAKAT in the Malay language.  It is regarded as one of the honorabale awards in Singapore and it may be rewarded to any Singaporean who has rendered valuable service to people.

So as the The Public Service Medal that was instituted in 1973 and is called PBM which stands as PINGAT BAKTI MASYARAKAT in the Malay language. The recipients are announced during the National Day of Singapore each year.

Mr Ramamoorthy Krishnan one of the Public Service Star recipients of 2020 is currently working as a senior lecturer in Republic Polytechnic.  He, now is the chairman of PA Narpani Peravai.  He says, ‘it is important for anyone to give back to society and it gives immense satisfaction’.  He started to serve in the Telok Blangah Community Centre IAEC (Indian Activity Executive Committee) in the 1990s as a member and through dedication rose to this position.  He has also been in various committees like in SINDA (Singapore Indian Development Association), TLC (Tamil Language Council), TLLPC (Tamil Language and Learning Promotion Committee), Indian Community Oral History Committee and others. He is also one of the Justices of the Peace, announced this year.

Mrs Viji Jagadeesh one of the Public Service Medal recipients of 2020 is a business woman.  She says, ‘I am most humbled and honoured to be conferred the PBM award by the President of Republic of Singapore on the occasion of Singapore’s 55th National Day 2020’.

She also adds on that the awards are not only a recognition to the recipients for their dedication in serving the community in various capacities often over many years, but also a motivation and inspiration for all those that would love to give back to the community in one way or other.

She attributes her success with an acknowledgement to the following,  as she says, I am very thankful to all the opportunities, enrichment and empowerment to play my various leadership roles as:

Chairman, Pek Kio CC IAEC,, Chairman Moulmein-Cairnhill Little India Liaison Committee Chairman, Pek Kio CC – Inauguration Ceremony – 2017 Chairman, Tanjong Pagar GRC Deepavali 2017 Organizing committee Chairman, MOCA – NDOC 2018 Organizing committee Chairman, MOCA – Deepavali – 2018.

Hence these awards motivate many to serve people and give back to society in a meaningful way.





Leave a Reply